Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What an idiot, I have been working on cars and motorcycles for literally 45 years off and on, mostly successfully!
I changed oil on the transmission so I thought, and put the 360ml rotella 5/40 synthetic in the small angled bolt on the side of of the transmission, not in the level hole or fill hole (I found out later).
Did a test ride and and got some noise, drained transmission and only a bit came out. Sht!

I filled transmission in correct location and all seems better, but where the heck did the first 360ml go?

Geez, what a screwup.
Help!

·
Premium Member
14,278 Posts
Good question, I can't think of another bolt in that area where you could have put it. Maybe a picture of the bolt location might help us figure I.t out.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I think it.is where one might check transmission oil pressure?
Its right on the side of the case.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Yes...I agree with Buffalo....snap us a pic please.

late,
Coz

·
Premium Member
14,278 Posts
There is no oil pressure in the transmission, it is a splash system. Might be a bolt in the clutch housing . Since it shares oil with the engine any oil that went in there would end up in the engine oil sump. Check the engine oil level to see if it is overfilled.

·
Registered
735 Posts
The only bolt I remember that's at an angle is the one that plugs the oil supply to the clutch, on the side of the clutch housing, which would mean that it went into the engine. Better than into the CVT!

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Engine seemed.a bit overfull, I drained some out, not sur of amounts yet.
Man I must losing it. And they let me drive on the.road?

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I guess the bolt in question is in the side of the clutch case on left of course.

Rode it a bit and Changed trans oil again. Can't.see or feel any metal in it?p

·
Registered
31 Posts