Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
496 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

Well the day finally arrived. I got my "Silver Queen" today. Now all y'all have to understand that I have been riding for approximately 5 years of late and 2 years some upteen thousand years ago. I have had 2 accidents (1 severe) 1 not so severe, so I am a big fraidy cat.

Anyway I trepidly picked up my Scoot. I rode it about 2 times around the parking lot before I got into traffic. I only had to ride the Scoot about a mile and a half to my home.

What a difference between my motorcycle and the scoot. 1st I had to get use to not using the brake as my clutch; 2nd there is absolutely 0 zip in the throttle or in other words about a 1/2 second delay in the throttle before I get some movement; 3rd cornering is definitely different with little acceleration; 4th trying to figure out where the best placement of my feet are; 5th trying to stablilze scoot on tipy toes as opposed to being flat footed on my former motorcycle; 6th it was very windy and the noise was deafening having just ridden the Savage in for the trade (I am definitely going to need a different windshield) 7th dealing with fear of not getting hit by somebody cause I was vulnerable riding an unfamiliar machine...

However, tomorrow I plan on riding in my subdivision, reading the manual, and trying to get use to something different. I was invited to go to the mtns. today by a group and thought are you nuts, I just want to live long enough to feel comfortable going to Publix (supermarket) :!:

When my nerves settle down I am sure I'm going to love this thing, but am going to take this slow for now. Good-luck to everyone else on their first day :!:

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
Congratulations!