Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a Suzuki Burgman Exec. 2008, I have been driving motorcycles since 1995, when i drove the Burgman I felt something very strange when I decelerate by letting go of the throttle, it felt like i have downshifted a gear .. I do not know if this is normal or not, but in both cases it is very irritating, I love the bike by all means and I really want to keep it, but this issue is driving me mad, and I am thinking of selling it if I couldn't find a solution for this problem, all i am asking is a smooth ride without jerking.. Please if you know any solution for this kindly help me..

·
Registered
197 Posts
Normal. You'll get used to it - just try rolling off the throttle instead of closing it abruptly. Same thing when rolling on - don't snap it open. I learned to like the engine braking my 06 does - I learned to work with it. I've heard the 2013 and newer models have much less engine braking.

·
Premium Member
902 Posts
I actually like it, and have developed my riding style to suit. I'm now at the point when on a "normal" bike, that I get annoyed about having to use the brakes so much, with little engine braking available.

If you just get off the throttle earlier, and more gently than you normally would, you use the brakes a lot less.

·
Registered
213 Posts
Mamin, I also find it very annoying, but is normal, as the others have said. I installed a G2 Throttle Tamer on my '09; it helped some, but not a lot. You'll have to practice throttle control to minimize it--or move on to a different machine. Did you test ride the scoot before you bought it?

·
Registered
1,536 Posts
I like the engine-braking- it is the best i've ever encountered in 40+ bikes. It is a bit hard to get used to at first but you will get to like it - just be gentle and steady on the throttle. It saves loads of wear and tear on the brakes.

·
Registered
4,876 Posts