Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding bikes off and on since I was 15 (40 years!!). For the last few years it's been off and, unfortunately, I let my motorcycle licence lapse. Here in Ontario we have graduated licensing, and now I had to start all over again. As I already took the MSF cource at a local community college about 8 years ago, I decided I would just take the test and be on my way. SOOO... Friday morning I take my Burgman 650 to the MTO to take my test. For the life of me I couldn't do the low speed cone weave :oops: On a smaller bike I would have just feathered the clutch, stood up and gone through like nothing but on the Burgie I couldn't find a speed where I could go slow enough to make the 4.5 Meter spacing and not lose my balance. I was so embarrased/pissed off/frustrated that I brought the bike home and haven't ridden it since. Now I am unsure just what to do. I have no trouble whatsoever riding the Burgie, and I really don't think this part of the test has any bearing on one's ability to ride but it's the first part of the testy and you can't even go on if you don't get it. Short of buying a 50cc scooter just to take the test I don't know what else to do. I'd hate to have to sell the Burger and call this one more thing I'm too old to do. Sometimes life really sucks! (and it's raining again :x )

·
Registered
308 Posts
Will dispatch Burgman coach to your location within the hour.

Seriously, dont get ruffled. The cone weave might be better done in manual with a short shift to a higher gear lugging it a bit.

You will pass that test ! Allwalk - FIX THIS - get one of the corps over there to coach our member.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Don't you dare give up trying the test! From what I've read you can drag the brake on a Burgman and still twist the throttle to get it slow enough to weave the pillions.