Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I sat on my new blue burger boy today and cranked it up....; now friends, I have been riding big bikes since 15 years old, many many large V-twins, fours, etc., and I have blipped throttles sometimes more than I care to admit , I am a mindless blipper.

Well I was sitting there on the Burger Boy, and I had the most terrible urge to blip, blip, blip the throttle.- but I know that if I did, I would be forced to jump all of those nice new ATV's, water craft , and motocross bikes ahead of me.

What to do? What to do when the Burger Boy is cold,a nd needs a judicious blip to keep running at the light?

vetreran Burger Bums, please blip me an answer.

·
Premium Member
2,857 Posts
I didnt realize there was an actual name for doing that with the throttle. I never noticed that I did it either till I bought my Burg. The nice thing is that the Burg doesnt need to be "blipped". Once I broke the habit, I dont do it ever. Let it warm up a few mins and its perfect. I live in Vegas where cold is 34 deg. Im not sure if others need to blip their Burgs when its colder.
-Bryan

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
oh yeah...

Of course one need not blip any modern bike, esp FI models. My Nomad never faltered at idle...

It's a cultural thing..like racing a hotrods engine at a stop light. People just do it.

I guess if we Burger Bums blip we rear end the car in front of us!

·
Registered
3,323 Posts
I too had the similar habit that needed braking. My only worry now is when I meet up with a group of riders and I'm sitting there idling,there's allways someone who walks up and wants to blip my throttle. It's a motorcycle tradition....blipping.

·
Registered
5,363 Posts
Blipping