Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm completely new to the scooter / motorcycle thing. Just bought a 2009 650 (Burgman, obviously :D) yesterday that has been well kept and has only 12,000 miles. Very much looking forward to attending motorcycle school tomorrow and Tuesday, then taking my test and hopefully getting my license on Friday. Right now, it's sitting at my folks' house (they live much closer to the seller), and it's killing me!

Got the idea to get a scooter from a guy at work that's pretty much doing the same thing - needed a second vehicle (my wife's van crapped out on us a few months ago), and in dire need to cut our gas bills.

See ya'll out on the road soon!

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
Wow, you picked a heck of a first ride!

Please be careful with it. Its a LOT of bike for a newbie to handle. I write that with sincere concern. Take it easy, get some parking lot time, watch videos, read "Proficient Motorcycling", etc. and GET PROPER GEAR and wear it. No jeans and light jackets. Good stuff with Kevlar and such. Its expensive, but skin graphs are more so. :D

But congrats on the new bike. I'm sure you'll love it. And welcome to BUSA from sunny Los Angeles.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! Part of the size choice is due to the rider - I'm a big guy, and everyone I talked to said that the 650 would be a much better choice than a 400. Hopefully, that'll be right.

Will do on the being careful part. Already picked up a riding (armored) jacket, gloves, helmet, etc. I'm attending the local CMSP (California Motorcycle Safety Program) training tomorrow and Tuesday. Total 8 hours of on-the-bike training and another 4+ hours of classroom training. Not saying it's a full replacement for long-term experience, but I'd hope that it should be a good start.

·
Registered
256 Posts