Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
425 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are you really saving that much more money by riding your scooter then driving a car? How much money on average do you save compared to a car, like a Prius? that gets 50 mpg? You will have to calculate accessories like motorcycle jacket, gloves, helmet, a GPS (if viable), Insurance costs compared to a car, etc

Obviously the advantages are more maneuverability and ease of parking but some people would argue that you're not really saving that much money by riding a scooter. Discuss.

·
Registered
2,936 Posts
The 650 is a gas hog and eats up rear M/C tires in less than 4000 miles. No savings whatsoever, unless the alternative is a truck, but who would want to commute in a truck, besides millions of Americans?

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
One reason I started riding was to save some money. I think there are 3 areas to look at in comparing price, purchase cost, fuel and general maintenance cost{incl. gear and insurance} and repair costs.

I paid $2000 for my 2006 Burgman last June with under 600 miles on it and well kept in a garage - practically new. A used car for $2000 would be quite old and well worn. In fact I have owned a few like that. The last one was a 1992 Toyota Paseo, which needed a few repairs to get it running properly and it lasted for about 9 months before it blew a main bearing. It cost me $1800 plus another $100 in parts so almost the same as my Burg. After that I had a 1995 Blazer which cost me even more. Purchase price is a big winner, for me at least.