Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
925 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering how long many of you have been riding scooters, what kind have you owned, and how many? I have been riding scoots for 15 years or so. My previous rides are as follows:

1986 Honda Spree-50cc
1990 Yamaha Zuma-50cc
1992 Honda Elite-250cc
1995 Honda Helix-250 cc
2004 Vento Triton R4-50cc

I know most people here either switched from motorcycles to scoots, or currently ride both. I just thought it would be nice to know if anyone has ridden them for several years, or own several now.

Thanks, JD 8)

·
Registered
2,070 Posts
JD, about like you, I've owned scooters for 15 years or so. Started with a used 86 Helix, later replaced that one with another newer Helix, and then traded that for a new 2001 Reflex. Recently traded the Reflex for the Burg 400.

During this time I've owned a bike or two but find I ride the scooter much more. Back when I first got the 86 Helix I had a BMW R80 as my principle ride, but after riding the scooter on a 800 mile round trip and finding it more comfortable, for me anyway, I sold the Beemer.

Am lovin the the 400 as it provides the extra power I want, and capability for longish day rides which is about the extent of my physical capacity.

Have located two other retirees with 400's and we try to get in a breakfast and ride each week. Any other scooterists in the N.C. Triad area are welcome to join us.

·
Registered
3,411 Posts
I rode a friend's Honda Trail 50 a lot back in the late '60s. That and home-built "minibikes."

Rode a different friend's Honda (a 450 if I recall) during the '70s.

Bought my first bike, a Honda CH125 Elite, in '84 and never wanted a "regular" motorcycle after that.

Traded up for a CH250 Elite in '85. Got stolen a year and a half or so later.

Almost bought a Helix in '95 or so, but didn't. Rode a friend's Vespa a lot. (I have very understanding friends.)