Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,857 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
95% of the time I keep it at 4200 rpm or lower. Currently at 300 miles. A few times I had to bump it up to 5800 to pass someone or pop onto the interstate. Once I took it to 7000+ to prove a point. Is the rpm limit a guide to follow most of the time or all of the time? I iknow the motor wont blow up and its better to observe the guide lines of the break-in rules. But 1000 miles of babying is difficult.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Thoughts on break-in.

I'm no expert on engine design or the theories of the internal combustion engine, but I do have over 40 years of motorcycling experience and quite a number of new bikes in my past. Most of those bikes have been from one of the top 3 Japanese manufacturers. I have never pampered a new bike during break-in. For the first hundred miles or so I try to keep my trips short and watch the fluid levels and engine temperature very closely. At around 300 miles I usually do the first oil change, including filter. This is to remove any metal particles that may have found their way into the engine during assembly and the particles that are a part of the normal break-in process. After that first oil change I ride the bike the same as an older, well broken in machine. I'm not telling you to follow my guidelines, just saying that I have enjoyed many thousand miles of riding with no problems resulting from this procedure. Of course you should follow the manufacturers guideline for further required maintenance. The only exceptions to this break-in routine were a BMW R100S, a MotoGuzzi, and a Harley. :D

·
Registered
55 Posts
don't worry

I've broken in a couple of new bikes, and I've never really "followed the rules," either. I have heard some people argue for a "hard break-in." It's supposed to get a better ring seat, etc.