Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks-
This is my first post here. I have been admiring scooters and riding motorcycles for 40 years or so, and when the Helix first came out I swore one day I would have one, only I was hoping for a bigger motor.
Now I have choices...
Here's the problem- I am 6' 9" tall, weigh..maybe 320, and wonder if I'll fit on one of these scooters. My wife likes to ride with me and she's no midget so together we can put 500 lbs on 2 wheels.

My Honda VTX 1800 takes the weight with ease, and it's like they built it for me as far as general fit- reach to the bars, floorboard placement, etc.
BUT
I am getting too old to hold up an 800 lb. motorcycle when it tips a bit like it did the other day- I almost had to abandon ship and jump off as I was trying to hold up 1300 lb worth of bike and passengers with one leg and it was tipping further and further, finally I gave a mighty heave and got it back upright but I decided it was time for something much lighter, say 500 lb max give or take a few lb.
Are there any folks here my size or near it? How do you fit?
( if there are none I guess you don't fit eh?)
I haven't even seen a Burgman in Eastern MA, though I haven't scouted the dealers yet.
Thanks for being here- this site is very informative

best
jgwoods

·
Premium Member
4,919 Posts
Welcome jgwoods!

Thanks for asking. Long story short - I dunno.

Seems to me that you still have a bit "of grunt" left - so don't sell yourself short! The big burg could haul your (singular) heft w/o a prob. I think it would be a thing of "fit."

Dude - all I can spout is - crank yo ass down to the local 'zuki dealer and give it a "test fit!"

I only weigh ~ 200# fully clothed and am only 6 foot (with reg. shoes). I know (sorta) that with this gigantic corbin seat that I have, you (without the squeeze) would have a very good ride. Add her and then you'd be looking at gross GVR etc.