Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
3,347 Posts
AFAIK, a higher octane rating in and of itself shouldn't result in higher performance in an engine that runs well on lower octane.

However it's possible that the lower octane fuel is also mixed with ethenol as a cost cutting method, and ethenol -- although it reduces pollution when added to gasoline -- has a lower specific energy than gas.

Of course, I'm not an automotive engineer, and maybe my information is incorrect. Some have reported better acceleration with Premium, others have reported rough idling and misfiring at moderate speeds with it.

Try different brands and different grades, and buy what works best with your particular bike and riding style, I guess.

· Registered
3,347 Posts
87 octane fuel at my local Arco station went from $2.30 a couple of weeks ago to $1.99 as of last night, and I assume other grades dropped in price as well (since I've always bought 87 I haven't really paid attention to the others).

Maybe I'll try a few tanks of 89 and a few of 92 and see what my results are. I'll post them here when I've tabulated my cost per mile figures.

· Registered
3,347 Posts

· Registered
3,347 Posts
pauljo said:
...But I won't run it in any of my vehicles - based on articles I've read in the past that argued that the alcohol is not really good to put in a vehicle. I think it had something to do with causing fuel lines and gaskets to deteriorate over time - I don't remember exactly. Anyway, back when I read those articles, I made a mental note to avoid that stuff. ...
I double checked my Owner's Manual, and Suzuki says you can run gasohol with up to 10% ethenol (grain alcohol) or 5% methanol (wood alcohol). Or MTBE up to 15%. (It's either/or -- MTBE is not used as an oxygenator when alcohol is used.)