Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there fellow Burgman riders,

My name is Scott from the great land of theme parks and 365 fun, Orlando! I've been riding scooters for about 5 years now. Rode a 50cc HerChee Chinese bike for about a year and a half. Loved it and loved getting 97mpg. Just didn't love not being able to get around Orlando. (For those of you not familiar with the central Florida area, you really need to be able to drive on Interstate 4 to be able to get around and actually have a social life within the city.)

I finally decided to go for a bigger bike. Bought a 250cc Apollo by Puma Cycles. This was a cheap stop gap measure to buy me some time before I could afford the Honda Silverwing that I had been drooling over. This was a huge mistake, however, as I started to have problems with this poorly engineered machine. (If you want full details, that is a story for another time.)

With a faster bike, I was then able to get around the interstate system and was now able to attend the weekly meeting of the Orlando Scooter Society (http://www.orlandoscootersociety.com/) that I'd been hearing about for many months. It was here that I was introduced to the Suzuki Burgman! <Angelic choir singing> I knew this was the bike I wanted.

I rode the Apollo (and my 50cc bike during the many times when the Apollo was in the shop) for about six months before the Apollo's breaks went out coming up on a stop light while driving to work. I found myself trying to stop with my feet much like Fred Flintstone and ended up 15 feet into the middle of the intersection. I miraculously made it to work safely and when I came home and recounted the failed break story to my roommate he asked me to show him on the internet this fabled Brugman of which I has been speaking for some time.