Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I have been doing my searching on this place and am now more nervous than before.
This morning I turned the key on my 2006 400. The headlight flashed on and flashed off right away. I hadn't even touched the starter and it went out. I thought all I would have to do is do a simple search here and find out how to dismantle the headlight housing, install a new one (I think I may go with the Luminics Ultra White 5150K), and close it up. Then I started reading and that was my mistake.
Could it be a fuse?
Could it be power to the headlight? :eek:
Could it be a relay? :eek:
Could it be something else? :eek: :eek:
I am no mechanic or electrician, and I don't play one on TV. I have a volt meter that was given to me, but I don't know how to use it. :roll:
Where should I start looking? What is the recommended process of elimination?
By the way, the high beams worked just fine, but I don't like riding in traffic with the high beams on because I don't like it when others do it. The scoot ran just fine.

HELP!
Thanks,

·
Registered
71 Posts
The first thing I would suspect is the bulb. Attend to the simplest possibility first.

(FWIW...don't touch the bulb glass with your bare fingers or wipe the glass with alcohol afterward if you do. The salts in your skin oil will shorten the life of the glass.)

·
Premium Member
902 Posts
When it happened on mine, the other headlight followed a shortly after.

Two new bulbs, and all has been well since.

·
Premium Member
14,235 Posts