Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Arthur;

Welcome aboard and greetings from Eastern NC. Not too many hills out this way...unless you count our landfill. Glad to hear about your new purchase.

Have a great time.

Brad

·
Registered
4 Posts
Well, I did it! I registered on this site. I no longer feel like a voyeur. I've been frequenting this site for a few months as I agonized over the choice of a scoot.

It's com down to considering a used '02 Silverwing and a new Burgman 400. They cost about the same. I'm 5'8" 170 with a 30" inseam and bad knees, and I really haven't ridden enough since my passing the MSF 3 years ago to be considered anything but a newbie.

My biggest question is the strength of the 400 to go up the hills that we have here. There is no question that it is the more comfortable of the two for me. I finally convinced the wife that I should buy one for my birthday (last week), so if everything goes well, I'll have one in my garage this weekend! :lol:

I hope that someone who has a 400 and rides/has ridden in hilly/mountainous areas can help me with the above.

Thanks, and I hope to meet you out on the road! :D

Arthur

·
Super Moderator
8,064 Posts
If your riding solo at high speed (65-70) or 2 up @ 55 you should be ok. If your riding 2 up at high speed (65-70) for longer runs you might want the SW for more power. As to the ride I can't comment on the SW.

·
Premium Member
70 Posts
Arthur,

I am 6'0", 235 lbs. and live in New York's Catskill Mountains, where some of the slopes are darn steep. My new (1 month old) Burgman 400 has hauled my lard butt up and down those hills with no problem at all. Mind you, it doesn't go up the steepest and twistiest at 65 mph, but I've never asked it to. It might.

Enjoy your ride.

Mike

·
Registered
4 Posts
Thanks, everyone