Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I can't ride for quite a while now. I was turning left onto the highway in AZ and there was gravel all in the street. Bike slid right out from under me and now I have a broken left ankle. How can we combat gravel? I don't know what I could have done differently. I was going a nice calm slow speed, minimal lean, and on my light 400 which I have a lot of experience with. I don't know if it's me or if there's just nothing you can really do in that type of situation. I'm at a loss here.

·
Registered
2,935 Posts
How exactly did you break your ankle?

I had a similar accident a couple years ago, and I got my ankle trapped under the scooter. Only by honking my horn repeatedly was I able to call for help to get the scooter lifted so I could withdraw my leg.

I wore heavy motorcycle boots, so at first the only damage was a black mark.

A week later, the skin broke open and the wound got infected, so a had to get strong antibiotics.

I fear gravel a lot now.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Sorry friend. Gravel is our nemesis. When I enter intersections now my radar is on full alert. Sometimes nothing you can do as this is a strong reason for ATGAAT.

·
Registered
806 Posts
Regarding riding on gravel

Well, I can't ride for quite a while now. I was turning left onto the highway in AZ and there was gravel all in the street. Bike slid right out from under me and now I have a broken left ankle. How can we combat gravel? I don't know what I could have done differently. I was going a nice calm slow speed, minimal lean, and on my light 400 which I have a lot of experience with. I don't know if it's me or if there's just nothing you can really do in that type of situation. I'm at a loss here.