Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and enjoying and learning very much. I am also new to my bergman 400. I have been riding 49cc scooters for 4 years but this is the first scooter I have had that will go faster than the wind. my question, I am 6'3" with a 34 inseam. my head was above the original screen and getting a whipping, I heard everyone talking about the GIVI windscreen so I decided to buy one. it does work great for keeping the wind from my face but created another problem for me. the larger wind screen seems to move the scooter around going 55mph or higher, the original wind screen seemed more stable. is this something that will pass as I get more experience, I have 575 miles on it , 100 miles with the Givi screen. does anyone have any helpful points on how to deal with this.
Thank You in advance.
AL

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
also I have a problem looking through the wind screen. do most people look over it or through it just curious ?? I know we all have to do what is best for each of us.I am thinking about cutting down the giva wind screen so I don't have to look though it, is it possible to cut it down to see over it and not get your head in a shake, has anyone ever done this?? does it help. this is all new to me so I hate to cut the wind screen without some knowledge if it will work.
Al

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
I cut mine down 1 3/4", or had a shop do it, I should say. The results have been poor, though not disastrously so. Wind noise notably increased, though buffeting did not, while I gained almost nothing in terms of visibility. Right now I'm waiting for the Clearview screen to come out, as I'm very reluctant to cut the Givi any further. OTOH, I've experimented by raising up as high as I can on the highway, trying to simulate more cut-down on the Givi, without any serious buffeting (though with, once again, increased wind noise).