Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had a Givi topcase on my 08 400 for over a year - and I love the practicality of it. I am a professional sports photographer and love using my scooter to get in and out of crowded parking lots at football games.

But - I have two issues with mine. It is the big E55 Maxia case at http://www.giviusa.com/cases-top-case/monokey/E55-MAXIA-3

First, the hinged supports on the side look as though they should have a detent that will help keep the lid from crashing down when open. As it is, when trying to load gear into the top case, the lid continually falls down and makes it hard to load as I have to use one hand to keep the lid open and try to load a heavy 300mm lens with the other hand. Anyone know of a way to "fix" the supports to provide some sort of detent?

Second - the monokey system works as advertised - very handy. However, I need two hands to squeeze the lid shut. Very inconvenient. Anyone know of a way to fix this problem so I can close the lid with one hand.

Thanx -

·
Registered
69 Posts
If you back up the pivot point and tap with a hammer it will tighten enough to stay open.
You could also experiment with pliers to make it tighter.
As for closing, I've found that if pressss in near the latch on the bottom half I can press down on the top with my other arm or elbow and it will latch.

Not a perfect "one handed" solution but the best I've come up with.

·
Registered
739 Posts
I have the E55 and my remote does not work.. I have given up trying to get it right..
If I take the E55 off, then put it back on, it works until I strat the engine, then it doesn't work.., It's a small conveniance and not worth the hassle of trying to fix..

Mine stays open when I open far enough.. but will crash down in a small breeze.. and yes I use two hands to close..

·
Premium Member
3,008 Posts