Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, let me welcome all members of this wonderful place !!! :eek:ccasion5:

I'm total newbie not only in Burgman, or scooters .. but motorcycles in general. I discovered huge interest towards riding some few month ago and since that time was analyzing, reading, thinking and sloooowly moving towards implementation of my new passion.
The next step for me would be, of course, taking MSF course, but anyway, I found that idea of maxi scooter, and burgman in particular, seems very interesting to me.
Few weeks ago I occasionally had chance to sit on Silverwing, as well as few other bikes for a while which led me to analyzing how I feel on that thing.
I liked overall feeling of being on scooter pretty much with only one concern: while sitting on the other bikes, I was able to "grab" the tank by legs, which kind of increased feeling of confidence.. although I have no idea what actual riding feels like (yet), and I'm somewhat speculating here, I can see where holding the tank in leans may actually help.
Now, on scooters - there is nothing to grab, which makes me to feel less confident on that thing.. almost like there's something missing there..

I would really appreciate if all the experienced scooter riders share their impressions on difference in experience between scooter and regular bike in this matter.

Thanks in advance!
-Mo

·
Registered
13,278 Posts
Welcome to the BurgmanUSA forums Mo. Glad to have you join us.

The first time I sat on a Burgman I thought the same thing. Once I started riding the 400, I quickly forgot about the 'missing' tank and began enjoying the ride.

·
Registered
2,070 Posts
One difference betwn the scoot and cycle is with the scoot you have your feet forward so you can push your rear back into the butt rest for a tighter seat if you feel the need. Actually tho, you won't be doing that much..just not needed.

·
Registered
409 Posts