Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
I have fitted an after market muffler to my 2005/650 burgman, the fuel economy has improved which is a good thing as this all l have to get around on/ in ( no car), the problem is it sounds like a constipated blowfly not good. I have been told that if l cut the balance pipe in the exhaust system a block that pipe off on both endss that it will make the exhaust note lower, can anyone tell me if this mod will effect the performance of the bike.

Peter

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
any mods on exhausts will impact the performance, what you've been told is sort of true but probably the bike will react more quickly and it will impact your MPG. Im not an expert, im sure somebody else will explain all the techy details of it.

·
Registered
220 Posts
I have never had an after market exhaust system that improved fuel mileage. On some bikes it does improve performance, but then you get the loud exhaust, you need to buy a fuel controller for the fuel injection to work properly, and like everything else one thing leads to another. I'm strictly a stocker today, if the manufacture didn't put it on from the factory, then I don't want it.

John

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi,