Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3,411 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
irunamok said:
I have two words for you: EDGE TRAPS! Learn about and watch for edge traps. I've been riding for 24 years now and even so, I almost dumped my VFR 800 at 10 mph on a neighborhood street because I didn't notice the edge trap. There's lots to learn more than that, of course, but you don't hear much about edge traps when they're telling you about lane placement, cars turning left in front of you, etc. I think edge traps are one of the biggest dangers yet you don't hear much about them.

Here is edge trap info from "Proficient Motorcycling" in Motorcycle Consumer News:

EDGE TRAPS
Although we don’t know of any statistics
to prove it, edge traps may be the most
hazardous work zone hazard. An edge trap
is any raised pavement edge or groove running
parallel to the lane direction. For
instance, when a lane is repaved, the edge of
the new paving is raised several inches
higher than the old paving. That raised edge
can be out in the traffic lane. If you allow
your front tire to ease up to a raised edge,
it’s very likely you will lose control and go
down. We call it an “edge trap” because it
tends to capture your front tire and trap you
into a fall. Once your tire is trapped by the
raised edge, it’s almost impossible to avoid
a spill.
Almost all construction zones will have
edge traps. The most common ones are
where lanes are being repaved. Even prior
to the repaving, edge traps are created when
the old asphalt paving is ground away.
Raised edges are created at the sides of the
gouged-away areas. Some edge traps are
not so obvious as a gouged away or repaved
lane. It’s common to spread gravel next to
paving to fill in a section being repaired and
reduce the height of the raised edge. But
loose gravel several inches deep next to a
hard pavement edge doesn’t prevent a
motorcycle from falling. Narrow motorcycle
tires tend to plow through gravel and be