Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,296 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Stumbled across this academic paper on the Suzuki e-CVT as part of a project.

Amongst the engineering waffle (I am an engineer ) there are some useful drawings and explains.

Apologies if this has been posted before.

Edit: Link which appears to be a companion study to the one linked by MJR.

I do apologise for omitting the link:

1. I was in a hurry.
2. It was late (here).
3. I was watching TV as well.
4. My nearest and dearest was wittering on about something in my starboard cranium fin.
5. Hands up those who have never sent an email without the attachment. ;-)

·
Registered
3,975 Posts

·
Premium Member
14,278 Posts
Norman I believe that has been posted on here before, at least I remember reading it. Still it is a good read for anyone that has not seen it before.

·
Registered
3,975 Posts
Yes very nice Norman. :thumbup:

At overdrive ratio the efficiency drops, because of higher friction in bearings and over clamping of the belt (chapter 8).
There's the a possible reason why the CVT controller doesn't run the CVT in its highest ratio (Manual 6th) at speed but is rather somewhere in between the Manual 5th and 6th ratios.

·
Registered
1,116 Posts
I enjoyed reading the paper Norman. Thank you for posting it. It seems we have a lot of people here with engineering backgrounds including myself. My area was (I am retired now) electrical.

Doug from Kentucky

·
Registered
735 Posts
I'm surprised that nobody mentioned the sections that discuss the stronger Continental CVT belt he proposes using instead of the original. Has anyone done the research to determine the part number and to ask if it's available? Might make an interesting experiment when someone's belt needs replacing.

That 600cc 4-cylinder must be TINY! It makes the CVT look huge!

·
Registered
52 Posts