Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Purchased my '08 Burgman 400 used this spring and brought it into the local dealer for its 14,500 maintenance (wish I had the time, patience, and tools to do the work myself $605 later). On my receipt under the recommendations it said "drive shieves grooved from consistant rpm opertion." First, I don't know what drive shieves are or what their purpose are (as you can tell I am not a mechanical person), and second, is this something that can wait or should I have it done with my next maintenance work? Also, I do not have an owners manual, is the next service at 18,000 miles? Thanks....

·
Registered
133 Posts
sounds like grooves on your face drives where the belt runs. if thats what it is, its normal. it will continue to wear with age.

·
Registered
1,545 Posts
Yeah, agree with burghman. The receipt is referring to the drive pulley faces where the drive belt runs. All the power goes through there. The pulley drive faces develop grooves over time as you ride. It's normal and usually you don't have to replace them for ages. These grooves come about due to maintaining a constant single cruising speed during long rides so all the wear takes place on one part of the pulley drive mechanism. These can be replaced anytime if they become bad. It's not serious so don't worry. We all have to do it sometime though.

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
We all have to do it sometime though.
When would that be? I've heard 50k.

My bike is at 42k and it runs fantastic. I don't notice any difference from how it ran 5 years ago at 10k, except that its a little faster now. Things seem to have loosened up a bit.