Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't know if this a good place to post this, but it has helped me enjoy riding more.
I have had ear problems most of my adult life,and not the least is problems with my balance. Last Spring I was treated by a therapist who showed me a new way to counteract the balance problem. I am no doctor and outside of some basic First Aid training with Bell Telco, I, like most people, have found what works for me.
She had me on my back on a table with my head hanging over the end and tilting my head back as far as practical, count to 30 seconds; then look to the right as far as possible and comfortable, count to 30; then roll my head to the left, and again count to 30. I was shown how to lie on the floor with a pillow sideways under my shoulders so my head was "hanging" over the side of the pillow. Then with my head tilted back as far as I could comfortably do, I count to 30. Now the fun part, roll my head to the right and count again to 30 (I usually get as far as 10-15 seconds and the world starts to spin for 5-7 seconds before settling down). Then to the left for the 30 count and finally I look back of me for a 30 count and sit up for a 30 count. It works! Simple, no cost, effective. I always get up carefully and pause shortly, just to make sure, but it seems to be good for nearly a week. If you are having balance problems and think it may help you too, please feel free to try it. If you know a therapist and can ask him/her about it please do so.
I have been using this procedure once a week and it has helped me immensely. Once in a while I have bent my neck back too far and have felt a tightened neck so be careful to only go as far as comfortable. You may want a "convenience bag" handy the first time in case your world spins too much. YMMV but good luck and I hope it helps you as much as it has helped me.
Enjoy the ride.
NodakRider

·
Registered
1,664 Posts