Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I changed the rear tire and balanced it on my 2012 Burman 650 (4512 miles) because of a nail. I am a scooter mechanic, so I am not totally unfamiliar with the rear wheel of a scooter. Followed the video on Youtube showing a Burgman 650 and replaced the rear tire. Now my first and maybe second pump on the rear brake is a catch. It takes a second or third pull to make the brake catch. Someone with a little Burgman know how please help as to what might be the problem. Everything seemed to go back on OK.

·
Registered
220 Posts
The only thing can think that it might be is the brake pads are not seated properly in the caliper. I don't know if this can happen as I've never had this happen to me when removing a wheel front or rear, but I have had the pads come off the caliper and I was careful in reinstalling them. If you had to remove the caliper bracket make sure it's in it's proper location, don't know if it could be remounted improperly. I would think it's got to be in this area. Good Luck.

John

·
Premium Member
700 Posts
If the pads are seated correctly, the only other thing that springs to mind would be a buckled/damaged brake disc. This can happen when removing a tyre if the disc remains on the wheel and you are not careful. The buckled section of the disc would both bind in a certain point as well as pushing the piston back into the calliper resulting in several pumps of the lever being required to bring the pad back in contact with the disc.

·
Registered
218 Posts