Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know ... a newbie question ... because I'm a newbie.

I recently bought a 2012 Burgman 650 executive (only had 1200 miles). The previous owner obviously didn't drive it much, said he kept it on the tender all the time, and replaced the battery once.

After driving it a few hundred miles, with the last segment being 25 miles yesterday, when I went to start this morning there wasn't enough battery power to crank. The lights came on, "CHEC" illuminated on the LCD panel (and stayed on well after 4 seconds), but the engine wouldn't crank at all.

Of course I assume for now it's probably a bad battery (hoping it's not a charging system problem), and I've ordered a new one. In the meantime, I hooked up my tender and drove my truck to work (disappointing for sure because it was a great day to ride).

But ... in anticipation this might happen when I'm parked somewhere away from home, I'm wondering if there are any options to get it started other than a jump.

·
Premium Member
4,516 Posts
Can you push-start a 650 Burgman ???
NO...the engine has to be running to
engage the drive clutch & power the
drive-train to turn the rear wheel.
Pushing will turn the drive train, but
it will not engage the clutch to turn
over the engine.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Appreciate the responses ... I couldn't find what the CHEC light meant. I checked the kickstand, but I didn't recycle the kill switch. I'll check that out when I get home. Thanks ... both for the suggestions on the problem and for the info on push starting. I was guessing as much, but wasn't sure.

·
Premium Member
902 Posts
As others have said, there are conditions that have to be met, to allow the starter to engage.
But since you're obviously new to this machine, I'll offer my own feeble attempt to add some depth for you.