Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Received my new bearcat backrest (Thanks, Brad!) and attempted to remove the butt bumper so I could try out my new BabyBurg farkle. First problem was that the thingie that's supposed to hold the seat up, doesn't. Easy enough to work around (I'm an engineer, you see): cut a paint-stirring stick to an appropriate length and use it as a prop. Next problem: whoever put those little-bitty screws in to keep the butt bumper in place must've used LocTite and a cheater bar; they won't budge with any phillips screwdriver in my arsenal. I haven't completely wallered out the phillips slots in the screws yet, but I'm close. Time to go buy a higher quality screwdriver than the junk in my toolbox , maybe with a t-handle, and try again. If that doesn't work, what then? Drill the suckers out? I don't remember the BigBurg being this much trouble. Any and all suggestions appreciated.

Oh, and have a terrific 2013!

·
Premium Member
14,235 Posts
Did you try giving the screwdriver a rap with a hammer before you turned it. That sometimes helps. I've removed those from 6 seats now. Managed to get them out on 4 of the 6. On the other two I just took a small drill bit and drilled them out.

·
Registered
739 Posts
Mine came out with a little torque..
It was harder to line up the two arms on the Bearcat into the holes.. but after fiddling a bit it worked it's way in just fine..

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the suggestion. Now, is there a more elegant solution to my seat damper issue than the paint stick? Are those damping rods replaceable? I imagine Suzuki wants a fortune for the part.

·
Premium Member
8,167 Posts
yup there's a few threads on it in here, and it's cheap and easy
saaaaay. yer an engineer
tell me , is it really hard to keep them big long trains balanced on them little skinny rails ? :cheers:

·
Premium Member
4,516 Posts
wldbill said: