Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi from Wales, UK. Interesting site, and thought I might learn/impart a thing or two. I've been riding Burgmans for about 12 years, starting with a 2nd-hand 125, then a new 400, and for the last 7 years new 650 Exec's. Now coming up to 70 years of age, I've loved the "Burgers!" However, every one of mine have had brake/calliper problems. I currently own a 2013 model, bought new, which, once I got used to its different feel, have found it to be (on balance) the best one, although true to form, I've found the wheels have that binding feeling, and after several weeks of wet, windy and cold weather, the front brakes/callipers have seized. I'm wondering if any of you have had similar problems. Regrettably, I have no mechanical expertise, so am dependant on qualified Suzuki Dealers. Reference earlier comments on the forum, I find the 2013 model a little lighter, less drag, equally as comfortable, and much more fuel-efficient than earlier models; perhaps also a little more "skittish," but still a joy to ride on our narrow, twisting country roads. Very high fuel consumption in and around the cities - but you can't have everything ;)

·
Premium Member
14,257 Posts
I've never had any problems with the brakes on my Burgmans binding but then the weather here in Texas is not like the weather you have there.

·
Registered
2,936 Posts
Unlike my previous bikes, Honda's, Yamaha's, BMW and Moto Guzzi, the Burgman brake calipers do not have an outer piston gator which moves with the piston and covers it.
On the Burgman calipers, as the pads wear down, more and more of the piston is exposed to the elements, and eventually they get chipped and start to rust, starting from the end.
When the pads are exchanged with new pads, the rusted part of the pistons get in contact with the outer seal and the pistons stick, or at least give much more friction than when undamaged.