Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, yesterday my Burg suddenly lost torque, i.e. I was accelerating to overcome another vehicle, but suddenly it like switched to neutral. Engine is revving freely and no torque is on the wheel. There were no FI`s on the dash. While the engine running I can`t hear any sound from the CVT motor as I switch the CVT between auto-manual mode (seems like the CVT is not spinning, that`s why CVT motor is not able to change CVT position). Wheel is spinning freely iself

I`ve he just before the accident some strange ticking noise while the CVT was freerunning (not accelerating, nor braking)

Any suggestions of what it can be?

·
Premium Member
3,142 Posts
How many miles are on your Burgman and how long have you owned it ?

·
Registered
29 Posts
I'm no expert Iluhis but it sounds like the drive belt to me. Please keep us advised if you would and good luck.

·
Registered
789 Posts
Either the drive belt or the pulley bolt has come loose and stripped the splines. I would check the bolt if that's still tight likely the belt. Either way the CVT will have to come off the bike.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
How many miles are on your Burgman and how long have you owned it ?
I`ve driven it for a 5K km or 2500 miles (odometer says 57K kms, but I`m not sure if it is a correct mileage). Previous owner did install a used belt (I`ll ask him tomorrow about it), but no one knows how long ago and the belt`s original mileage. 3000 km ago I`ve seen this belt and it seemed OK - there were no signs of damaged plates on it.

Today I`ve dismounted CVT motor and tried to check CVT internals. The front part of CVT is turning with the motor, but the belt is not moving - we were trying to spin the bolt under this cap (and, yes, this bolt fell in two parts 300-350 km). and there was a strange dust under the cap on the opposite of the CVT, looks like graphite"bolt under the cap"