Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I just bought a new 2005 Burgman 650 to ride in Washington. It replaced the 1500 Goldwing I have been riding up here for 17 years. I love the new bike and don't see that I have lost anything other than the cruise control and communciations gear by going with the 650. I can tell the 650 has more power and torque than the 400, but have not been in a situation where I needed to use that extra power yet.

Have not used the power mode or manual shift, other than to try them out and see how they work - which is great. I like the engine breaking on the road, but not so much in town. The extra weight and seat height are more cumbersome in town than with the 400, but not a problem. The only problem with the new 650 is that since it has so much torque and no passenger backrest I keep worring about giving it too much throttle and dumping my wife off the back.

I love my 400 and use it in Arizona, where we spend our Winters. I would classify the 400 as a great city bike, which does very well on the highway and the 650 as a great road bike, which does very well in the city. The 400 is definately easier to manuver and gets about 12 miles per gal better milage. Getting about 50 on the 650 and 62 on the 400. I also like the looks of the 400 better than the 650 - I guess that is where you guys get the svelt and lardy designations. I also tried out the Majesty 400 and like both of my Burgmans better.

I would like to know how much a larger windshild and the GIVI 52 liter trunk would impact both milage and crosswind stability on the 650. I know many of you have installed these items, and would like to know what your experience has been in these areas.

·
Registered
13,278 Posts
Congratulations on the new Burgman 650 Terry.

·
Registered
409 Posts
Terry: