Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys im new to the Burgman and I just bought a 2003 400 with 6700 miles runs really well I have a question about the rpm range it takes off around 2700 rpm stays locked in till I hit 55 then it seems to jump up to 8000+ rpm until I let of the throttle then it runs normal. Hard to explain but above 55 it seems to rev really high until I reach the desired speed and I let off the throttle then the clutch locks in but below 55 it seems to be locked in :confused: Going to check the drive belt tomorrow to see if its in spec.

·
Premium Member
14,253 Posts
Given the gear ratios in the CVT on the 400 I don't see how you can be running 2700 rpm at 55 mph. That makes me suspect you have a problem with the tach not reading right.

If you are running stock weights and springs then in general at highway speeds you will be running at 1000 rpm for each 10 mph give or take a couple of hundred rpm for belt condition. In other words you will be running 5500 rpm at 55 and 6000 rpm at 60. On a new belt that will be about 300 rpm less and on a well worn belt 200 rpm more (5700 at 60 new, 6200 at 60 well worn).

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Given the gear ratios in the CVT on the 400 I don't see how you can be running 2700 rpm at 55 mph. That makes me suspect you have a problem with the tach not reading right.

If you are running stock weights and springs then in general at highway speeds you will be running at 1000 rpm for each 10 mph give or take a couple of hundred rpm for belt condition. In other words you will be running 5500 rpm at 55 and 6000 rpm at 60. On a new belt that will be about 300 rpm less and on a well worn belt 200 rpm more (5700 at 60 new, 6200 at 60 well worn).