Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
770 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have ~7300 miles on my 2012 and was wondering: when do I need to start thinking about brake pads? I'm not an especially aggressive rider (except for 2 track days), and never ride 2-up. If it's any indication of riding style, I have not quite half the tread left on the rear tire.

·
Registered
2,089 Posts
My '08 with 16300 miles, is in the shop as we speak, and I need new rear brake pads. I'm a moderately aggressive driver and ride 2-up with my petite wife at least 50 percent of the time. Don't know how big your are, but I'd guess you've got a lot of mileage remaining on the brakes.

Whatever your riding style is, you are getting more mileage out of your rear tire than most of us.

·
Registered
1,545 Posts
On the Burgman 400's that I service and that are used in London, they need rear brake pads on average at the 10k miles mark. Front's go longer maybe to 14k depending on the riders style and aggressiveness in the huge amounts of city traffic. Mine go longer, much longer due to my forward thinking and non agressive riding style. The message is, there is no specific mileage that anyone can say to you where you may need to replace your brake pads. It all depends on you and how you use your bike. Therefore, always check your brake pads for wear on a regular basis as the mileage goes on the clock.

·
Registered
158 Posts