Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
753 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys

I would like some input here. Someone on another forum suggested that if you use really good oil and change it often (don't know how often "often" is) that you don't have to bother checking your valve adjustment nearly as much. Says that he has 70K on his '07 650 and because he uses a good oil that he has not needed to get his valves adjusted or even checked.

I am not a mechanical or petroleum engineer but this is something that I have never heard anyone claim before.

Your thoughts? :confused:

·
Registered
75 Posts
How could anyone possibly know that they don't need to be adjusted if they've never been checked?

I believe that using good oil is a good idea, but that doesn't mean you can ignore a maintenance schedule.

·
Premium Member
6,179 Posts
Better oil means less valve wear..................Sounds like a snake oil salesman pitch to me. I am a mechanic & yes good grade oil helps the life of any engine. As Dflowe stated it doesn't mean you can ignore a maintenance schedule. ;)

·
Premium Member
14,257 Posts
Most that have had to adjust the clearance on their valves have found the gap has closed due to wear of the seats. Oil does not get to the gap between the valves and the seat so I don't think the type of oil or frequency of changes would make much difference.

Now if the gap were opening because of wear on the cam lobes or bearings or the bucket surfaces then they might be able to make a case.

For the record, my bike was over 70,000 miles before I had to make the first adjustment and that was because the gap was closed up to minimum.

·
Premium Member
14,257 Posts
How could anyone possibly know that they don't need to be adjusted if they've never been checked?