Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to motorcyling and am very interested inthe Burgman 650. So close I anticipated buying one before summers end. Question is, would you folks recommend a newbie who has never driven a cylce before get on a Burgman 650? I've gone cross country on a fully loaded bicycle. Don't laugh, I know it is a stretch but for some reason I feel confident I could handle a 650. Reading other people's message where they were newbies many recommended the 400. I'm 38 and am dying to try this bike out and even own one. Any thoughts?
Thanks
Paul

·
Registered
3,166 Posts
Take the MSF course. They supply a bike you can ride for it. You should be able to answer your own question afterwards (keeping in mind the much greater weight and performance of a 650 over the bike you will be using during the course). :)

·
Registered
2,070 Posts
Welcome to BUSA Hybridone!

I might suggest you read through this thread:

http://burgmanusa.com/forums/viewtopic. ... eal+newbie

It has some real good info in it that you may find useful, including a piece I wrote about my experiences starting out on a 650.

Welcome & enjoy!

·
Registered
1,041 Posts
Take the MSF course and go for it. Remember, you control the bike the bike does not control you.

Janine :)

·
Registered
1,916 Posts
Good advice.

Welcome!

Taking the MSF course is excellent advice. First and foremost it will allow you to obtain your motorcycle endorsement. After that you can shop around and test ride the 400 and the 650. I started out on a little 50cc and then bought the 650. Personally I felt the 650 was more stable but I also need the power for the type of driving I plan to do. If you plan on touring one up the 400 will be perfect. 2 up or cross country you may want the 650. Height is also a factor. The 650 is also taller in the saddle than the 400. For safety reasons you should be able to flat foot the bike.