Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a story I hoped I would never have to tell on a 2 wheel forum. I have been riding for many years and many types of bikes and have had a few scares as many of us have had but nothing serious.

This past Halloween night I was traveling home from work on my 3 month old 2013 burgman 650. I was about 2 miles from home on a dark 2 lane road. I crested a hill and noticed a large black form in the middle of the road. I got on the brakes as my mind tried to process what it was. About that time it turned and looked at me and I thought oh #$#* a bear. It was too late to stop so I opted to avoid him by going right. As fate would have it the bear opted that route also and I t-boned him.

The impact took out the front end and I went down hard on my left side. I slid about 10-15 feet down the road. Luckily no one was behind me to run me over and so I was able to get off to the side off the road. The impact knocked the bear off the road and down a bank. I was worried that he might come back to finish me off. After I called my wife and 911 I heard rustling in the leaves so I guess he got up and ran off.

My pelvis is fractured in three places and I broke a small bone in my spine called the sacrum. My riding gear and helmet prevented any further injuries. I have zero road rash. My helmet has severe road rash on the shield and left side. It likely saved my life. I consider myself fortunate that my injuries were not more severe. I'm thankful that I can share my story.

I have not seen my bike as I was just released from the hospital yesterday but my father in law who retrieved it from the scene says it's pretty bad. The insurance adjuster is coming in a few days to give it a look. Maybe I can post up some pictures then.