Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok so I have a 2007 400. I bought used in 2/13. It had 67k miles on it and I put 2k on it this past year so I'm at 69k. What I'm asking is general info I need to know to take better care of my bike. List of basic tools I need. List of maintenance. Along with some how tos to accompany. I'm a beginner when it comes to any dyi stuff but its time to learn. This is my first vehicle and I want to do it right. High mileage bike with a newbie owner. Any and all info is welcome.

1)I would like to mention my repairs since I've owned the bike. A month after I purchased from dealership the bike stopped accelerating. The bike turned on and the engine revved when I pulled the throttle but no acceleration. Took it in and they said my axle bolt fell off or something. 400-500$
2) belt broke-300$
3) exact same situation as number 1. But this had something to do with the rear wheel. I guess there is something in the rear wheel that wasnt tightened properly during repair #2 and something was stripped. I don't know but I spent 400$ on a new rear wheel rim.

·
Registered
1,113 Posts
Welcome to the forum, mdstamper - glad you found us!

We're all beginners at the DIY thing when first we start. But now that you're here, you'll have more advice than you can shake three sticks at. I'm going to hold off on giving advice, since mine is the 650 version, but there are plenty of happy 400 riders here who can help with practically anything.

I think that $1200 in repairs in the past year is WAY too much, though each of us has his own comfort level.

·
Registered
511 Posts
>>I think that $1200 in repairs in the past year is WAY too much<<

But then again, with 69K on the clock I'm not too surprised. It could be the previous owner did little or nothing in the maintenance dept.

·
Registered
182 Posts