Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
694 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The groups with whom I ride comprise mostly motorcycles versus scooters, and the riders tend to be serious in terms of ATGATT and riding skill. Among others, I ride with MSTA members from time-to-time, and those guys are impressive, indeed.

I don't expect to maintain position on my 2012 AN650 around the curves with sport bikes, but I'm working on improving my riding skills so I can ride "sweep" without holding anyone up much but still be "riding my ride." Although I've never had a bike with a manual transmission, most of the cars I've owned had them and I'm familiar enough with the process, so I decided to see if some manual shifting would help me out. I started by punching the Power button before I entered a hot curve, the result of which was some welcome engine braking and ability to power out of the curve at the apex with more authority. From there I started riding in completely manual mode when I attack the twisties, and most of the rides here in Northern Kentucky are full of those. I've coming to really like it; I have a lot more control over the speed of my "Rosie" both into and out of the curves, and although I'm running faster I actually feel a lot safer. Today I rode about 200 miles mostly in manual mode, negotiating the the twisties primarily in 3rd or 4th. (Surprisingly, my fuel economy was GREAT --- >50 mpg ---- even though I was doing some fast revving.)

I've tended to view the manual feature as more of a gimmick than anything that the engineers expected anyone to use much, but I need to rethink that. So here's my question: What knowledge do any of us have about the reliability impact of manually shifting the transmission as a matter of habit? Am I wearing anything out significantly faster than I otherwise would if I left it in "D" all the time? Anyone else use manual mode frequently and, if so, what was your experience?

·
Premium Member
3,443 Posts