Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
857 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just curious, anyone belong to this or any other motorcycle association? Just curious what you may consider as the greatest benefit of each, what their political agenda may be, etc. Is the cost worth it? The AMA is found at: http://www.ama-cycle.org/

Thanks for any input.

·
Registered
793 Posts
Did I ever tell you about the time I awoke slumped over a snow covered
headstone because I hadn't made an icey curve?
Good, because that never happened.

Now, about these organizations that bilk consumers out of disposable income
while amassing marketing information data to sell to other companies while
the membership rates rise... No thanks.

·
Registered
409 Posts
I'm a member of the AMA. I belong because they are our best and strongest lobbyists. I also get a discount on my insurance and enjoy their magazine.

·
Registered
793 Posts
I got the same Song and Dance when I was an active pilot:
"send us money. the end is near." from the AOPA.

Vroom!

·
Super Moderator
8,076 Posts
Iwas in AMA for 5 years 1969-1973. Needed it for AMA sanctioned events. I used to motocross. To long ago to remember and benifits other than entering races.

·
Registered
5,363 Posts
Rider Organisations

I currently have an AMA membership, and I've been with them off and on over the years. The magazine is very good, as previously noted. I did also get a discount on my insurance due to having the membership. I don't know how effective their lobbying on our behalf is. Anything associated with politics is suspect in my opinion. But if they occasionally win one for us - that's a good thing.

I also bought a membership to Scoot-Tours this year. They are an organization for people owning super scooters. Their website is http://www.geocities.com/scoottours/. They hold an annual ralley in Eureka Springs, Arkansas and I think I'll attend it this year.

·
Registered
61 Posts
AMA