Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello from the frozen north;

I'm new to this so I'm probably asking all the same old questions again but here goes.
I'm a 6'2", 210lb senior (68yrs). I've been riding for more than 50 years on everything from a 125 BSA Bantam to a Suzuki Cavalcade and Honda 6 cylinder Gold Wing. My current ride is a Honda Shadow Ace Tourer which is a smooth, quiet ride but it's getting a bit heavy (I have a bum leg). Most of my riding is local but I do take an extended tour (two or three thousand miles) once or twice a year, usually alone but occasionally with a passenger.
I have not been able to test ride the Burgman 650 due to the crummy weather but I have several concerns.
1. What RPM are you turning at normal highway cruising speeds (60-75mph)? Is the engine buzzy and/or screaming?
2. What is the wind protection like for a six foot plus rider? Would you recommend the taller windshield or an after market?
3. The brochure states "Direct-type valve actuation". Does this mean you have to adjust the valves or does it have hydraulic lifters?
4. I've read several comments on the ride. Is it as rough as some seem to think or does it depend on the passenger/luggage load?

Thanks.
Dodger

·
Registered
793 Posts
1. approx. 4200 at 60. approx. 5900-6100+ at 75-80. Above 80mph, the rpms start to scream at the slightest throttle increase because the transmission is out of high up there.
AN650 rev's vary with road grade, even in a gradual climb you might gain 100-300 rpm's, along with decreased mpg - keep tire pressure within mfg's spec's.
Accelerating to pass at hwy speeds will swing the rpm's way up. Familiarize yourself with Manual modes before attempting to do everything in Drive mode, especially with mountain grades and lines of cars to pass while approaching blind spot curves and dips in the road.