Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today was a milestone in my life. :p I picked up my new AN400K4 that had 0 (zero) miles on the odometer! A short briefing by the salesman and a free tank of gas, and off I went through the streets of downtown Honolulu, then the freeway, circled Diamond Head to look at the ocean, and parked at my home 11 miles later.

This is a dream machine. Very quiet, immediate throttle response, unlike the 50cc Moskito SX I have been riding for the last 13 months. I was warned to keep it below 4000 RPM for the first 100 miles. Impossible. Just normal acceleration takes you up to 5000+ as does freeway speed. But having read all the post in the "Newbie" category about engine break-in procedures used in the "real world," I wasn't worried about the max RPM as much as I was in trying to vary the RPM constantly and watching engine temperature. The salesman made a big deal about the tires being new and slippery, so I was very conservative in the cornering. Apparently, you need to rub off some rubber to give the tire some "tooth" to make for better adhesion to the road surface. Sounds like credible advice to me.

The handling is very positive (accurate). My small scooter had a vague sense of direction to it when cornering, but I finally got used to it, but the "400" is solid. It tracks well and can stay straight even down to low speeds while coming to a stop. With the low center of gravity, it doesn't try to fall over if you happen to stop in a tilt. I never had any feelings of insecurity, anxiety, or lack of self-confidence from the time I pulled out of the dealer's driveway. I have weak legs (60% normal strength from a spinal chord injury) so was very concerned about being able to handle a 400 lbs bike. I worry no more. :lol: