Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My scooter recently fell on the right side while I was away--cause unknown. The insurance company totaled it and paid me handsomely. They said it would be $4,000 to replace all the damaged pieces. Everything still works fine, it's just tupperware damage. I'd like to get the scooter back to a condition that isn't embarrassing, while spending as little as possible.

I've surveyed all the forum posts, and I've found 6 techniques for repairing plastics:
1) Use heat and ABS plastic
2) Make a mix of ABS shavings and acrylic cement
3) Use ABS cement (essentially the same as #2?)
4) Lay down aluminum mesh and cover it in fiberglass paste
5) Use JB Weld
6) Use Plast-Aid

For painting, sand down the surrounding area and use ColorRite to get the right match.

Here are pictures of the damage. Does anyone have any advice on which techniques to use where? I've never done any tupperware work before. If you think a part is so badly damaged and it's worth it to replace, that's okay too.

Many thanks for any advice!

Front leg shield:

Side leg shield:

Front box, frame cover, and maybe footboard?:

Back frame cover:

Front wheel cover:

Front box:

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
That's not even half as bad as from my gravel incident. I would take 1000 dollars and go to a low rider type of shop and have them do fiberglass repair. That's what I'm doing with mine. They should be able to put some plastic filler in and make it all nice again. Not a big problem I don't think.

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
I would recommend a plastic welder for the cracks. Even the cheap ones would repair the cracks better than any glue. Best to use plastic welding rod correct for the plastic you want to repair. The hard painted panels are ABS most likely and the black panels are polypropylene. I get my stuff from here -

http://www.urethanesupply.com/