Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding for 43 years; two Yamahas, a Zundapp, a Norton and 8 BMW's. I am guilty of nearly a million miles all over the country. If there is an adjustment on suspension systems I have tried it.
I have discussed at length the affects on adjusting PRELOAD. Preload is not for making the suspension softer or harder. It simply is there to increase the suspension travel, as when you are riding two up. Harder and softer is a function of coil spring cross section, whether you have progressivly wound springs and the damping rates that the shocks provide.
Usually when folks change the preload on their shocks they notice no difference in firmness. This is normal. Putting the preload on the highest setting will simply raise the ride hight of the bike. It will also quicken the steering responsiveness as is tends to change the fork rake.
My opinion is, concerning the hard ride problem with the Burgman is that Suzuki had to cut costs somewhere to keep the price as low as possible so they saved money on the suspension. We will have to find good shocks (IKONs?) then possibly change the springs in the fork. If possible we may be able to go to a lighter weight oil in those forks; however my manual does not indicate fork oil change intervals. This may mean that they are sealed or THEY USE ONLY SPRINGS (UGH). Perhaps I will inquire of Suzuki about the forks and shocks. I will keep you posted.

Columbus Burg-Man

Dave

·
Registered
220 Posts
Do keep us posted. I never thought about whether the forks have oil in them or not. Horrors! Also, I wonder if progessive springs are available or gold emulators?

As for rear shocks, Pauljo swears by Ikons, as do others. Don't know if Koni makes one for the Burgie.

·
Registered
5,363 Posts
Ted,