Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A friend who rides a 400 has asked me to poll the 400 forum concerning the 400's oil consumption. He has an '04 400 with 27,000 miles and has to put in approx 6 oz every 1000 miles. There are no leaks and the scoot is ridden with great care (no quick starts, high speeds, never exceeds 7000 rpm's) so the oil is being burned. Does this sound right? Does anyone here have this issue?

Thanks for your help with this and any input is helpful.

Tim

·
Registered
2,385 Posts
With 23000 thousand miles and I have found the oil low enough times that I know check much more often.. :(
No leaks, no signs of burning, or oil fouling plug.
It must burn off at speed because even the exhaust is not showing anything. :?
BUT ! I don't conceder it normal, except I have no experience with small single piston high mileage engines.
Anyone else have a clue :?:

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Another note

I also had to put in about 4 oz of oil after a 300 mile ride up to the Blue Ridge Parkway and then back on Interstate. The interstate ride was a steady 6300 to 6800 rpm's. I am concerned that the 400 may not be suited for sustained interstate speeds of 65 to 70 mph.

Also, I would like to know if anyone on the forum is having to add oil and if so how much how often under what riding conditions. My goal here is to make certain that I or my friend's 400 mentioned in the beginning post are not having early indicators of an engine problem.

Thanks again for your help.

tim

·
Registered
3,166 Posts