Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been riding Suzuki's since 1979, and the build quality was always top notch, until now. I cant believe that the engineers at Suzuki would design a glove box hinge as weak as the ones on the 2017 Burgman. The day I bought the bike, it was the first thing I noticed. The right hinge especially was SO weak, that I didnt think it would last a year. Well, it did. A year and two weeks exactly. That's two weeks after my warranty expired of course.

It appears that the entire top Tupperware will have to be removed to even get to the hinges. Not only that, but nothing on the Internet that I can find even shows the hinges. The hinges are curved plastic arms that "somehow" connect deep inside. Knowing how long and heavy that glove box door is, there was no excuse for the Engineers to build such a flimsy set of hinges. I only hope that they redesign the hinges for all the ones that will break, because if they dont, us owners will face the same problem over and over.

·
Registered
1,369 Posts
@wvburg
What scoot is this about? I know you mention "Burgman" and "2017" but not the model. 200? 400? 650?

On my 2005 B650 I did have a hing break and also a latch fail (but not break). The latches on that model were not really designed well either and sometimes would let the small glove box doors open. I don't remember what I did with the latch but I did "fix" it to stay shut unless I intentionally opened it. The latches on the 2013 + B650 seem much better. Plastic is plastic. So any part made of plastic is worth being careful with to avoid the inevitable plastic stress break.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited by Moderator)
I understand that, but I though SUZUKI should know, which is why I posted it there. Seems posting an issue to Suzuki and the public should be OK. The scoot is a 650.

·
Administrator
17,677 Posts
EDIT: