Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
794 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First: I am at 32K Miles with never an adjustment (except I assume Previous Owner had it done at 600 miles). I take a chance I guess and do not check valves as recommended (interval). I had 52K on a 2008 NINJA 500 first Valve adjustment (ALSO, my first valve adjustment ever - so, I am not experienced wrencher, but I do perform many tasks myself, like changing the belt and rollers on the Burgman).

Exhaust on NINJA was like .002 (spec is .007). Took a chance and lucked out. It is a screw and lock nut system and I adjusted. One thing though - I had to drain water as coolant hoses attach through the valve cover. Looks like no water lines involved with the Burgman 400.

Not sure what I will do if the Burg 400 is out of spec (think I might trailer it to dealer and see what they would charge to do the adjustments (Shims).

Questions start here:

I have reviewed the Part 1 and Part 2 Videos and making some written instructions that I can take to workshop where Scooter is stored and where I will do the work. DO IT, assuming I convince my self I can. I THINK I CAN THINK I CAN.

At completion of Part 2 Video, you are referred to Part 3. I cannot find Part 3. Looked and looked.

Is there a Part 3 and what is it? (I would assume it is the actual adjustment or just putting stuff back together).

·
Registered
3,396 Posts
Think the part 3 was supposed to come but Mitch's bike didn't need the adjustment. So by that time he was already a happy camper. :)

·
Premium Member
794 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks - I kind of wondered if that was the situation.

Guess if I get it checked (think I will try to do that - looks more trouble than my NINJA 500 to get to it) and it does need it. I may see if dealer will do it reasonable since valves are exposed.

Haul it over to dealer on a trailer. I don't think I want to mess with the SHIM Method.

·
Registered
1,545 Posts