Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,041 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for 2 way radios for bike to bike communication to use with the Autocom system. We have Motorola Talk About T5950 radios, but the male pins are longer than all others in the industry. That means the Autocom wires are too short for the MIC/EARPHONE jack.

Does anyone have experience using 2 way radios and can you suggest a set for us to purchase.

Janine

·
Registered
128 Posts
FRS Radios

Yes you can use Motorla radios between bikes the wife and I have been doing it for 2+ years and it works great. We have the older models the talk about plus with 2 pins for the head set. We got the mike/speakers/ push to talk gear from Motocomm.com or something like that you just tell them what model radio you have and they set you up. If you get the equipment let me know and (pm me) and I will tell you some neet tricks you can do.

·
Registered
2,070 Posts
Magyver, Been thinking about the same thing. Radios are the easy part; finding the rest that will fit one's helmet seems the hard part. What style helmet do you use, and did the speakers fit into the ear holes without discomfort? How do you mount the PTT button? About what did this rig cost?

Thanks..

·
Registered
1,041 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The Autocom system requires a wire from the Talk About radio to the swithcher box, then the headset is hooked up the the swithcher box. This allow use of all electronic equipment such as GPS, i-Pod, FM radio, and bike-to-bike radio through one headset. I need to plug a single motorola length jack into the Talk About radio and the other single standard length jack into the Autocom box. Radio Shack DOES NOT have an adaptor plug to convert the pin size. I would like to use the Motorola radios if possible, but so far that doesn't seem likely.

Janine

·
Premium Member
11,296 Posts
If you can buy the components knocking up a lead is not too difficult - Radio Shack/Tandy?

·