Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,810 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
10 year old Emma told her dad (my son) she's ready to move up now , she wants a 50cc Vespa . Most natural kid I've ever seen on a bike , this kid in every way is a riot . My X wife Emma's grand mother , just rolls her eyes with disgust ......... I just laugh .

TheReaper!

·
Registered
375 Posts
I was about that age when I started riding my dad's 50cc Yamaha Chappy. I was restricted to riding on the gravel road next to our house, but I did sneak off and ride around the neighborhood a bit. Ah, memories.

·
Premium Member
4,516 Posts
Check into a Honda Metropolitan...
there is a 'restricted' version that
has a large washer in the intake
throat, & in the exhaust....it also has
a re-mapped ECM, but you can do
the washer-thing yourself, to some
extent.
Metropolitans are 4-cycle 4.9 HP...
don't have to mix the gas. The factory
restricted versions work out to about
3.2 HP or so. Lower HP for the young'en.

·
Registered
585 Posts
She looks to be a bit big for that. With some pull-backs she could maybe ride it another year or so.

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
Not to toss a few sprinkles on anyone's parade:p...but...Double check with your DMV

In Illinois, a 49cc or lower gas motor driven cycle/scooter requires a valid driver's license, obtainable after completing a certified driver's education course and after reaching the age of 16

It is illegal to operate a gas powered cycle/scooter on anything but streets...no sidewalks, playgrounds etc.

The only way around this restriction is if the cycle/scooter is electric powered, not gas powered:confused:

Private property, of course, you may do as you wish:D

I just went through this with my youngest son, getting him a valid endorsement and certified for the little Ninja 300 sitting in my garage:cool:

Just my 2 cents...5 minutes on the internet to your DMV is time well spent;)

Bill

·
Registered
199 Posts