Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just recently my odometer flipped over 10,000 miles on my 2012 AN400. I bought it new in October 2013. So, I thought I'd give some observations.

As a background, this is my first motorbike of any kind. I started riding at 58. It is our (my wife and I) only vehicle.

Anyway, I'm just amazed at how much fun this machine is. It makes getting around this city SO much easier and enjoyable. I take my wife to school at UCLA, so we Mullholand Hwy almost everyday. When she's on the back, it feels like a different bike, but still doesn't feel like it wanting for power. It just rides smoother.

The 400 is perfect for my level of mechanical expertise, which I would rate as low to medium. Thanks to you fine folks and to MicBergsma, I have replaced the oil/oil filter, air filter, spark plug, final gear oil, windscreen (Givi AF266), removed and installed the rear wheel (haven't changed a tire yet) and done CVT maintenance. It so nice, but also strange to be able work in my garage and have instructional videos, a full service manual and all of the knowledge of the internet all available on my iPad mini.

The first time I did the CVT, I used an electric impact wrench from Harbor Freight. It was okay, but it deformed the variator nut a bit. I didn't want to try it again without have a clutch/variator tool and I didn't want to try to make my own. Eventually, I got this one.

http://www.motosport.com/dirtbike/BIKEMASTER-UNIVERSAL-SLOT-STYLE-CLUTCH-HOLDER

$33 and it worked for both the clutch and variator. Cool.