Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
302 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2007 Burgman 400 and I've been riding it since 2009. Almost to 41,000 miles.

Recently, the FI light has come on after I start it and let it idle. If I turn off the scoot and restart, the FI stays off...most of time.

Interesting fact...If I let FI stay on, the scoot is ridable, but will not RPM past 4000...even at full throttle. When I shut it off and restart, the code goes away and I can RPM all the way up.

Any thoughts? How can I check the FI code? Not done that before.

I have a great dealership I use, but want to exhaust my options before spending the $$$.

·
Registered
3,432 Posts
Ugh, stupid STVA, but thats exactly what it sounds like. I'm still fighting it (to cheap to just buy a replacement). But to be sure, need to put bike in diagnostics mode and verify the code it is putting out. C28 is an STVA error

Basicly something is messing up and the STVA (which is basicly a secondary electronic controlled throttle valve/butterfly) is sticking in a partially closed position, thus cutting airflow. It will idle fine, but anything that requires lots of airflow (ie having throttle open) will starve the engine for air.

Sadly only 'fix' by a dealer would be to replace the entire throttle body ($$$$) since Suzuki does not offer the STVA in a seperate part (they actually state in the service manual to NEVER remove it).

Options:

1) Do as xiboca did, that 'trick' worked for me for about 4 or 5 months, but after that mine started acting up again and could never get it such a way where it was consistantly fixed (sometimes it worked when i turn the key on, other times it didn't)

2) Scour ebay/classifieds for a part bike and see if someone is offering up a throttle body and/or STVA and replace. Last I checked, could get an entire throttle body on ebay for about $100. Could replace entire body, or just take the STVA off of it and swap it.