Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2005 AN650
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just before the pandemic swept across the world I purchased an '05 AN650. It didn't cost much. The seller was a shop and the scooter had been brought there after the rear wheel locked up during a ride.

The shop started into the diagnosis. Removal of the final drive gear cover indicated that the final is fine. Take out the first gear and it all spins just fine. Try to turn the drive shaft and it is immovable. I am new to these bikes but it seems to me that the drive shaft should move a little. It does not.

Now I have the pleasure of removing the engine and drive line to find the problem. Before I go down this path I am wondering if the driveshaft can be removed without splitting the cases? It is not clear to me in looking at parts diagrams or even the service manual. It seems that getting to this critical component requires a near complete disassembly of the whole engine?

·
Registered
2005 AN650
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Found the answer.

Sorry for the redundant post/question.

·
Super Moderator
5,875 Posts
Sounds like you have your work cut out - there may be some new pearls of wisdom from the 650 owners since that old thread

keep us posted

·
Registered
2005 AN650
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The circumstances seem similar. Mine is a '05 with just over 8k miles. Otherwise in good repair. Previous owner was riding on I-17 in Arizona when the rear wheel locked. I have performed the same checks that Dave_J performed. The problem seems to be between the CVT output shaft and the driveshaft. Today I'll start on the work to remove the engine and power-train from the frame.

·
Administrator
23,315 Posts
No pictures

·
Administrator
23,315 Posts
They were not showing in "DARK" Mode. I had to change to Light Mode.
Font Screenshot Rectangle Darkness Software

·
Super Moderator
5,875 Posts